2011 has been a busy year for the gluten-free market. According to market research Gluten-free market grew 16.9% over the last year. Additional reports have found more restaurants are appealing to celiac and gluten-free needs by increasing the number of menu items labeled as “gluten-free”. The growing number of celiac safe products available is definitely worth celebrating as we usher in a new year. Gluten-Free Hot Products has gathered a few resources to help make this years celebration happy and gluten-free.
Celiac Central’s Seasonal Gluten-free Recipes
The official site of the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, Celiac Central, is jam packed with information, including gluten-free holiday suggestions and recipes. Many of the delicious recipes found through out the site are contributed by gluten-free food manufacturers like Blue Diamond, Thai Kitchen, French Meadow Bakery, and Rudi’s Gluten-free Bakery just to name a few. These companies also provide support for celiac awareness through generous sponsorships. Check out Celiac Central’s Seasonal Gluten-Free Recipe Box for delicious New Year’s Eve Recipes.
Glutenfreeda: Celebrate New Year’s Eve Gluten-Free
Glutenfreeda Foods is the manufacturer of gluten-free oatmeal, granola, cookies, and frozen wraps. You can read full reviews of Glutenfreeda’s Products here. In addition to tasty gluten-free products, Glutenfreeda also publishes an online magazine. This month’s edition is filled with holiday recipes that would be welcome additions to any gluten-free New Year’s Eve dinner party. While you are there check out an older article with tips on Celebrating New Year’s Eve Gluten-Free.
Distilled alcoholic beverages including rum, gin, whiskey and vodka are considered gluten-free because gluten does not survive the distillation process. If you rather play it safe and would prefer to avoid alcohol derived from grains then Tequila, White Rum, and Vodka when it is made from potatoes are all safe choices. It is important to be aware of what you are drinking. This is especially true of cocktails which may be made with mixers and other ingredients that are not gluten-free. As always, reading labels and asking questions when someone else is making your drink is an important step in avoiding hidden gluten. Wine and Champagne also make excellent and safe choices when toasting in the New Year since they are made from grapes.
If you prefer beer then you are in luck since there are some great gluten-free options available. Many of them have been reviewed here on Gluten-free Hot Products. Gluten-free beer options include: Redbridge distributed by Anheuser Busch, Bard’s Tale, Green’s Gluten Free Beers and Crispin Hard Cider.
From all of us at Gluten-free Hot Products,
Happy New Years!