When you are required to eat gluten-free because you have been diagnosed with celiac disease you quickly learn that it is vital to understand what is in your food. Reading labels and avoiding cross contamination becomes an essential habit. This can be especially upsetting during the holidays when something as seemingly harmless and traditional as plucking a candy cane from the holiday tree can turn into an full investigation. Instead of thinking “yummy” you start to wonder “Are candy canes gluten-free?” Well the short answer to this question is yes, because the ingredients used to make them are normally gluten-free. However, depending on the manufacturer, even traditional peppermint flavored candy canes can be at risk of cross contamination. To help simplify the subject, a short list of gluten-free candy canes is posted below.
1) Tru Sweet Candy Canes
Tru Sweet is the manufacture of organic and natural fruit flavored Surf Sweets candies (read the full Surf Sweets review here). Tru Sweet Candy Canes are classic treats made with all natural ingredients and no artificial flavors or colors. In addition to being gluten-free and organic they do not contain any corn syrup. Learn more about Tru sweets and where you can buy them by visiting trusweets.com.
2) Pure Fun Organic Candy Canes
Pure Fun Peppermint Candy Canes are also organic. They are also hand wrapped adding a bit of an old fashion flare to this traditional treat. If you visit Pure Fun’s Website you can get full and very detailed allergy information on this product. Visit www.purefun.ca for more details.
3) Spangler Candy Canes
Spangler Candy Canes are possibly the easiest to acquire among the three gluten-free candy canes in this list. In addition to manufacturing the traditional peppermint flavored candy canes, Spangler also produces candy canes in other fun branded flavors like Jelly Belly, Sour Punch, and Smarties. Visit www.spanglercandy.com for more details.